Do You Want it Fast or Do You Want it Right?

Started by Jumpin' Jeff, January 11, 2006, 07:17:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jumpin' Jeff

http://www.wxpnews.com/ Tue, Jan 10, 2006 (Vol. 6, 2 - Issue 209)

https://web.archive.org/web/20060111063719/http://www.wxpnews.com/?

<div align="left">EDITOR"S CORNER

Do You Want it Fast or Do You Want it Right?

In past editorials, we've discussed the effects that our fast-moving high-tech world has had on us. One of those effects seems to be more than ever, people not only expect but demand instant gratification in everything we do. I catch myself doing it all the time.

After getting used to a 15Mbps Internet connection, I get impatient when a Web site loads slowly. Wading through layers of voice mail menus to try to get to a real, live human being when dealing with utility companies, government offices and retailers drives me nuts. Even product packaging seems designed specifically to thwart me. (Luckily, as a writer I'm able to work from home so I don't have to deal with daily commuter frustrations, but I certainly sympathize with those who do).

This "need for speed" sometimes blinds us to the wisdom of the old saying: You can get it done fast or you can get it done right, but you can't have both. Of course, there's a corollary that sometimes you CAN get it done both fast and right, but it won't be cheap. Yet today, many of us seem to think we should be able to get all three at once.

This is nowhere more evident than when it comes to software. We deride software companies for slipping on their projected ship dates, yet we turn around and criticize them for shipping software that still has bugs. We demand access to beta versions of software, then denounce those betas because they aren't yet "ready for prime time."