What is the maximum number of characters for artist & Titles?

Started by BobP, March 29, 2010, 08:05:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BobP

Hi All,

I am a newbie. My Name is Bob Pomerleau. I am loading several thousands songs and Karaoke files.

Is there a restriction on number of characters for artists and titles?

I see it only exception 30 characters for titles. Is this right? It will allow you to modify and add more characters in OTS Studio.

Am I missing something?

Also, Should be no spaces between the (-) hyphen for artist and title.

Thank you for your help and OTSAV is a great product.

Bob

Jammin' Adam

Hi Bob, welcome to the board.

There is a limitation in title names but I know it is a heck of a lot more than 30 characters, If Ots Studio needs to read tagging info to get the title/artist information then it is usually ID3v1 tags it reads, those tags definitely limit the number of characters for the title and artist.

Normally I place a space before and after a dash in a file name such as "Aerosmith - Toys In The Attic.ots" for example, but in a song title I really havn't run into a situation like that so sorry I'm not much help there. I'm sure someone will chime in on that one.
Just an ordinary average guy, who built an ordinary average computer, and uses it to play some ordinary average music, using a very extraordinary and extremely above average software called OtsAV. Which gives an ordinary average person, some extraordinary and  better than average multimedia enjoyment, to supplement an otherwise ordinary average lifestyle.

OtsAV PDI's:
PAAA-BGGD | PBSB-FQ1N | PA31-FB5V

Jumpin' Jeff

The oml limits the number of characters for artist and title to 64.
Jeff Main

You can please some of the people some of the time, all of the people some of the time, some of the people all of the time, but you can never please all of the people all of the time. 
Abraham Lincoln

OtsAV license holder for life.
PDI: OtsAV TV Broadcaster PARC-KHY7

Ed